2020 NC Media & Journalism Hall of Fame inductees lead with innovation and ingenuity

The NC Media & Journalism Hall of Fame will induct five game-changing industry leaders at the group’s annual gala on Friday, April 3, 2020, at the Carolina Inn in Chapel Hill.

Rebecca Darwin, Peter Gammons, Nikole Hannah-Jones, Torod Neptune and Judy Woodruff will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in recognition of the remarkable influence they have had on the fields of media and journalism.

Founded and administered by the UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media, the Hall of Fame honors exceptional leaders with ties to North Carolina who demonstrate leadership in their spheres of influence; service to the professions and society; performance exemplifying the highest professional standards; and commitment to inspiring and advancing young people in media and journalism careers.

A committee of professionals and faculty review nominations to select each year’s nominees. Since its founding in 1981, the Hall of Fame has celebrated more than 200 professionals in advertising, journalism, public relations and related fields.

The gala not only celebrates the honorees, but it also benefits UNC Hussman, which plays a critical role in developing future leaders in the media and journalism professions.

Rochelle Riley, director of arts and culture for the city of Detroit — a 2019 NC Hall of Fame inductee and 1981 Hussman School graduate — will serve as the evening’s master of ceremonies. 

Read more about this year's inductees on the NC Media & Journalism Hall of Fame website.