NC Media & Journalism Hall of Fame Announces 2023 Honorees

The NC Media & Journalism Hall of Fame will induct six media luminaries at its annual gala on Friday, April 21, 2023, at the Carolina Inn in Chapel Hill.

Robert J. Brown, David Crabtree, Curry Kirkpatrick, JJ Miller, Janet Northen and Kenny Smith will be honored this year in recognition of their achievements and influence across their respective fields of media and journalism.

Purchase tickets by April 13 at

Robert J. Brown is the founder, chairman and CEO of the management consulting, market research and public relations firm B&C Associates. David Crabtree is the CEO of PBS North Carolina and a 16-time Emmy award-winning broadcast journalist. Curry Kirkpatrick is legendary sportswriter who changed the style of collegiate basketball reporting. JJ Miller is senior vice president at Sharecare, a leading digital health company, and the founder of a media consulting company specializing in strategic video and audio storytelling. Janet Northen is the executive vice president and director of agency communications at McKinney, and an expert at creating buzz-worthy public relations for creative campaigns. Kenny Smith is an Emmy-nominated analyst known for his insightful commentary on TNT’s Inside the NBA and CBS’s NCAA March Madness Men’s basketball coverage.

Rochelle Riley — director of arts and culture for the city of Detroit, a 2019 NC Hall of Fame Inductee and a 1981 graduate of the UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media — will serve as the evening’s master of ceremonies. This event benefits UNC Hussman and supports its critical role in developing future leaders in the media and journalism professions. For more about this year’s honorees and sponsorship opportunities, please visit the NC Media & Journalism Hall of Fame website.

About the NC Media & Journalism Hall of Fame
The NC Media & Journalism Hall of Fame recognizes diverse individuals and exceptional leaders with ties to North Carolina who demonstrate leadership in their spheres of influence, while exemplifying the highest professional standards and commitment to inspiring and advancing young people in media and journalism careers. A committee of professionals and faculty review nominations to select each year’s honorees. Since its founding in 1981, the Hall of Fame has recognized more than 200 professionals in advertising, journalism, public relations and related fields.