UNC Hussman wins sixth consecutive Hearst National Championship; 8 students compete for individual honors


The Hearst Journalism Awards Program has announced UNC Hussman as the 2024 overall national champion in collegiate journalism.

It is the school’s sixth consecutive overall intercollegiate national championship, ninth in the 10 past years and 13th since 2002 — far surpassing the school’s closest competitors.

Considered the Pulitzers of collegiate journalism, the Hearst Awards included 14 monthly competitions with more than 1,315 entries nationwide. UNC Hussman students earned the highest total combined points in monthly writing, photojournalism, audio, television and multimedia competitions held over the past year.


Stembler Distinguished Professor Charlie Tuggle (fourth from left), Dean Raul Reis (center), and Adjunct Instructor Adam Hochberg (sixth from right) with UNC Hussman's Hearst winners. Photo credit to Jakub Mosur.


In addition to the overall win, the school finished first in the multimedia and writing categories and second in the television, photojournalism and audio categories.

“It is nothing short of astounding what our UNC Hussman students have accomplished over the past year in every discipline that we teach in the school,” said Raul Reis, dean of the school. “Our advertising and public relations students work on the front lines of the industry with the world’s most recognizable brands, and our journalism students produce stories and projects that address critical issues and make a real impact with their subjects and audiences. The performance of our students throughout this year’s Hearst competitions is a powerful illustration of how the talent of our students and the dedicated support of our faculty and staff combine to continually reach for new standards of excellence. I thank our faculty for mentoring, elevating and supporting the work of our students competing in the Hearst competitions.”

In addition to the overall win, the school finished first in the multimedia and writing categories and second in the television, photojournalism and audio categories while eight UNC Hussman students were among 29 students nationally who competed for individual honors June 1-6 in San Francisco.

Anna Connors ’24

Anna Connors ’24 won the photojournalism national championship and earned a $10,000 award.

Kenzie Bulris ’25

Kenzie Bulris ’25 was honored as a finalist in the national multimedia championship earning a $1,500 award.

Marilee Combs ’24

Marilee Combs ’24 placed third in the national multimedia championship and earned a $5,000 award.

Sinclair Holian ’24

Sinclair Holian ’24 earned finalist honors in the writing national championship along with a $1,500 award. Holian was also recognized with the Best Article of the Year award that came with a $1,000 prize.

Sierra Pfeifer ’24

Sierra Pfeifer ’24 placed third in the audio national championship, earning a $5,000 award.

Lia Salvatierra ’24

Lia Salvatierra ’24 finished second in the writing championship and was awarded $7,500. She also earned honorable mention honors for Best Written Article in the Hearst monthly competitions.

Steven Schlink ’24

Steven Schlink ’24 placed third in the television national championship, earning a $5,000 award.

Henry Taylor ’25

Henry Taylor ’25 placed second in the audio championship and earned a $7,500 award. Taylor was also honored for Best Use of Audio for News Coverage that came with a $1,000 award.

The individual championship finals were the culmination of monthly competitions throughout the year among students at more than 100 journalism and media programs. While eight UNC Hussman students competed in the individual national championship finals, more than 30 Hussman students were recognized in monthly competitions, leading to the school’s overall intercollegiate championship and strong finishes in each of Hearst’s competitive categories.

Below are the UNC Hussman students who were recognized in the 2023-24 monthly Hearst competitions.




Explanatory Reporting:  



Investigative Reporting – Team/Individual 


News & Features:  



UNC Hussman students captured first and second place in the Audio category.  





Narrative Video Storytelling:  

Innovative Storytelling:  

Digital News or Enterprise: 

Digital News or Enterprise – Team: 


Trophy photo and group photo credit to Jakub Mosur.