Val Lauder Award for Teaching

The award

The Val Lauder Award for Teaching is awarded to an adjunct instructor (non-full-time, non-permanent UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media faculty) in the school. This award comes with a $500 prize.


Adjunct faculty members (non-full-time, non-permanent UNC Hussman faculty) who have taught at UNC Hussman for two or more years are eligible for nomination.


Nominations will be accepted from current and former students, faculty and staff. Please send brief nominations (500 words or less) to Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies Charlie Tuggle.

In addition to nominations, course evaluations and peer observations also will factor into the selection.


Nominations must be submitted to the dean’s office by March 15.


Recipients are chosen by a committee consisting of the Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies (chair), the Academic Dean and the previous winner. The award may be won by the same person more than once, but members of the committee are not eligible to win the prize. The committee forwards a recommendation, along with nomination materials, to the dean, for final review. The winner is announced at the school’s annual Faculty and Staff Awards program at the end of the spring semester.

About Val Lauder

The prize is named for Val Lauder, a trailblazing journalist and dedicated instructor who taught in the school for many years.

Past recipients

2020 Chris Kirkman
2019 Tim Crothers
2018 Adam Hochberg
2017 John Robinson
2016 Gary Kayye
2015 Marshele Carter



For more information, please contact Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies Charlie Tuggle.