Statements on June 30 Board of Trustees Action

June 30, 2021, 11:59 AM
Statement by Susan KingDean, John Thomas Kerr Distinguished ProfessorJune 30, 2021
It has taken longer than I imagined, but I am deeply appreciative that the board has voted in favor of our school’s recommendation to tenure Nikole Hannah-Jones as the Knight Chair in Race and Investigative Journalism.

Op-ed: Dean Susan King's message to the UNC community

June 30, 2021, 8:23 AM
Susan King, dean of the UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media, penned this op-ed for The Daily Tar Heel, UNC's independent student newspaper, voicing her appreciation for the Carolina community's support during the Nikole Hannah-Jones tenure case.

Remembering Val Lauder

June 22, 2021, 11:06 AM
Valarie Anne Lauder, 95, of Chapel Hill, died from cancer Tuesday, June 15, at UNC Hospice in Pittsboro. Val, as she was called, worked as a journalist and writer throughout more than 75 years of professional life. She began at the Chicago Daily News during World War II and retired in 2011 at the UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media at UNC, where she taught feature writing for more than 30 years.

UNC Hussman wins the 2021 Hearst national championships; The school’s 6th national championship in 7 years

June 15, 2021, 11:20 AM
The nation’s most prestigious student journalism awards competition has once again recognized the UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media’s overall preeminence in the field. The Hearst Journalism Awards announced that UNC Hussman won its 2021 national championship, taking home $25,000 for the school’s first-place finish in the intercollegiate overall competition.

4 UNC Hussman journalists competing in Hearst collegiate national championship finals

June 4, 2021, 10:42 AM
Four UNC Hussman journalists are competing as finalists in the Hearst Journalism Awards individual collegiate national championship finals in the fields of photojournalism, audio and multimedia. UNC Hussman has the most finalists among the 29 journalism students representing 20 universities from across the country. Nash Consing ’21 and Hope Davison ’22 are representing the school in the multimedia finals. Angelica Edwards ’22 is competing in the photojournalism finals and Charlotte Ix ’21 is in the audio finals.

Tori Ekstrand named to UNC's Royster professorship; Rhonda Gibson earns prestigious UNC research and study leave

June 3, 2021, 3:38 PM
Two UNC Hussman professors have received big University honors. Associate Professor Tori Ekstrand has been named the Caroline H. and Thomas S. Royster Distinguished Professor for Graduate Education, and  James H. Shumaker Term Professor Rhonda Gibson has been awarded a prestigious UNC research and study leave for spring 2022.

UNC Hussman at the virtual International Communication Association 2021 conference

May 25, 2021, 11:34 AM
Twelve graduate students, six faculty members and various alumni will represent the UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media May 27- 31, 2021, at the 71st Annual International Communication Association Conference, held in a virtual format. These scholars will participate in panel sessions and present authored or co-authored papers.
UNC Hussman faculty and student activities at ICA include:

Six student standouts recognized as 2021 Carolina commencement is celebrated

May 19, 2021, 11:26 AM
by Barbara Wiedemann
UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media recognized six student standouts with awards and scholarships for their outstanding accomplishments this academic year. Valentina Arismendi ’21, Ashley Fox ’17, ’21 (M.A./J.D.), Giulia Heyward ’21 (M.A.), Natalie Rinehard ’21 and Jacob Rohde ’21 (Ph.D.) were five of approximately 390 UNC Hussman students among the nearly 6,300 Tar Heels to graduate this spring. A sixth, Elizabeth Baier ’20 (M.A.), graduated in December 2020, and took part in Carolina’s spring commencement ceremony.

Recent honors graduates reflect on their time at UNC Hussman

May 17, 2021, 2:42 PM
Seven seniors graduated with honors or highest honors this spring from the UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media — Valentina Arismendi ’21, Molly Brice ’21, Megan Dennehy ’21, Miranda DiPaolo ’21, Anne Claire Foreman ’21, Alice (Sejin) Lim ’21 and Jake Schmitz ’21.

Bloomberg Journalism Diversity Program announces largest cohort to date

May 17, 2021, 1:34 PM
The Bloomberg Journalism Diversity Program will host its largest group of students in the program's history, with 50 students in the 2021 cohort. After having been put on hold in 2020 during the COVID-19 pandemic, this year's program, in partnership with UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media and UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism, includes 30 participants in the United States. The UK program is in partnership with the Department of Journalism at City, University of London and includes 20 students.