ACEJMC Accreditation

UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication Self Study

A team from the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (ACEJMC) lauded the UNC School of Media and Journalism's student and faculty excellence and innovative programs in recommending re-accreditation – saying the school "continues to retain its status as a leading journalism education institution in the U.S., moving forward with a more digitally focused curriculum and innovative programs such as the Reese News Lab and continuing to produce top-flight journalists and scholars."

The ACEJMC team visited Chapel Hill Feb. 8-11, 2015, to evaluate how we are meeting its accrediting standards.

The school's undergraduate program was found in compliance with all nine ACEJMC standards. The undergraduate program has been accredited since 1958.

The master's program was found in compliance with eight standards, but in non-compliance with Standard 9 – Assessment. The team acknowledged that the master's program had already initiated an assessment process, but it was too new for the findings to have been applied to improve student learning objectives.

For the first time, the school's online Master of Arts in Technology and Communication (now the Master of Arts in Digital Communication) program was recommended for accreditation. The site team praised the online program, calling it "a smartly crafted new online degree that fills an important need in the professional media community."

ACEJMC is the national organization that evaluates journalism and mass communication programs. All accredited programs are reviewed every six years. The school has been accredited since 1958.

The Accrediting Committee will meet in March to consider the site team's recommendation before going before the Accrediting Council for the final decision on the school's accreditation status. 

Chris Callahan chaired the six-member team that visited the school Feb. 8-11. Callahan is the dean of the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
 at Arizona State University and vice provost of ASU's downtown Phoenix campus.

Other team members were Caesar Andrews, Leonard Distinguished Professor in Ethics and Writing at the Reynolds School of Journalism at the University of Nevada at Reno; Beth Barnes, director
of the School of Journalism and Telecommunications at the University of Kentucky; Nicholas Lemann, Joseph Pulitzer II and Edith Pulitzer Moore Professor of Journalism and Dean Emeritus of the Graduate School of Journalism at Columbia University; Diane McFarlin, dean 
of the College of Journalism and Communications at the University of Florida; and Brad Rawlins, dean of the College of Communications at Arkansas State University.

The accreditation process includes an extensive self-study in advance of the ACEJMC site visit.

Review each section of the self-study, or download the full self-study below.

Download the full self-study.

Policies and Procedures

Public Accountability