Usage & Grammar Test

The Usage and Grammar Test is a graduation requirement for all UNC Hussman majors and second majors. Students are required to score 70 percent or better on the test before graduation.

The test evaluates word usage, grammar and punctuation competencies based on AP style. It is a timed 60-minute test given electronically through Sakai that consists of 100 multiple-choice questions. Allow about one hour in your schedule for this test.

All MEJO 153 students will take the test once in class. Hussman minors are not required to score 70 percent or better.

The test is offered multiple times throughout each fall and spring semester and once each summer session. There is no limit to how many times the test is taken. Seats are limited. Availability can be competitive near the end of the semester. Make every effort to fulfill this obligation before your final semester.

How you can prepare

Testing opportunities

Current MEJO 153 students will take the test once only during class. MEJO 153 students do NOT register for seats through the calendar until the next term (if a passing score was not earned in class).

Tests are proctored via Zoom and thus require a laptop with an operable camera for completion. Mozilla Firefox is the recommended browser to use with Sakai for all operating systems. Download it to your laptop before test day. Ensure your laptop is fully charged or connected to a power source during testing.

Students who self-identified with ARS must notify us upon seat reservation at the latest.

Reserve your seat beginning one week before each test date via the school’s calendar (see below). If your plans change, cancel your registration.

• For cancellations before registration closes: Cancel your test registration by accessing the Mobile Summary via your registration confirmation email. After logging in with your registered email and opening your ticket summary, an option for canceling your order will be available. If you have trouble canceling, please contact us.

• For cancellations after registration closes: Please notify us at your earliest convenience.

 

 

Spring 2023 TEST DATES

TEST DATE   REGISTRATION LINK REGISTRATION OPENS   REGISTRATION CLOSES  
Thursday, January 26, 2023 2:00 PM Register Here Tuesday, January 17, 2023 8:00 AM Tuesday, January 24, 2023 4:00 PM
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 11:00 AM Register Here Friday, January 27, 2023 8:00 AM Friday, February 3, 2023 4:00 PM
Monday, February 20, 2023 1:00 PM Register Here Thursday, February 9, 2023 8:00 AM Thursday, February 16, 2023 4:00 PM
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 11:00 AM Register Here Monday, February 27, 2023 8:00 AM Monday, March 6, 2023 4:00 PM
Friday, March 24, 2023 12:00 PM Register Here Wednesday, March 15, 2023 8:00 AM Wednesday, March 22, 2023 4:00 PM
Monday, April 3, 2023 9:00 AM Register Here Thursday, March 23, 2023 8:00 AM Thursday, March 30, 2023 4:00 PM  
Thursday, April 13, 2023 10:00 AM Register Here Tuesday, April 4, 2023 8:00 AM Tuesday, April 11, 2023

4:00 PM

** Students can begin signing up for the Usage and Grammar Test when Registration Opens (see above)**