Society for News Design's 2019 Best of Student Design competition

First place (tie): Standalone Multimedia

Designers: Peyton Chance '18, Danielle Chemtob '18, Matt Couch '18, Hanna Davison '18, Alexis Fairbanks '18, Kaia Findlay '19 (M.A.), Rob Gourley '18 (minor), Kaitlin Harlow '19, Jasmin Herrera '19, Alice Hudson '19, Connie Hanzhang Jin '19, Nathan Klima '19, Alex Kormann '19, Marissa O’Neil '18, Gabrielle Palacio '18, Aubrey Patti '19, Katie Rice '18, Elle Sommerville '18, Maria Elena Vizcaino '19, Madison Walls '18, Avery Williams '18, Darian Woehr '19, Justin Wynn '18, Ruijia Zhang '18

Click here to view

The 2019 design contest is the 20th time the Society for News Design has held the international contest and the ninth year in a row that the Hussman School has taken home the most awards of any university. Winners from those nine contests can be viewed on the Society for News Design website: 201920182017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 20132012 and 2011.

Tar Heels accounted for 13 of the 61 awards in the 2019 competition. In total, Hussman School students received two first place, two second place, three third place and six honorable mentions in the 2019 contest. The Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) earned the second-most awards in the 2019 contest with 10 awardees total.