Hearst Journalism Awards 2002 national champions

In the tradition of the last decade, the weekend of competitions culminated in a Monday night cruise around the scenic San Francisco bay. On a balmy late spring evening, the finalists, judges, deans and special guests boarded the San Francisco Spirit yacht for the annual dinner and awards ceremony that signals the completion of the exciting national championship weekend.

Since the inception of the program in 1960, the overall ranking of the top schools in writing had been recognized. As the program grew to include photojournalism and broadcast news, cash prizes were added to the intercollegiate competition (in 1990), giving journalism schools a financial reward for the collective success of their students.

The Awards Program acknowledges the winners of the Intercollegiate Competitions by granting a total of $52,500 in prizes to the three highest scoring schools in each division. Medallions are also awarded to the top ten schools in each category.

At the culmination of each competition year, points scored by all students in the three divisions of the program are tabulated individually to determine winners of the Intercollegiate Writing, Photojournalism and Broadcast News Competitions.

The Overall Intercollegiate Winner is the School of Journalism & Mass Communication at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, with the highest accumulated points from all three divisions.

  • OVERALL: 1st place, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • WRITING: 5th place, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • PHOTOJOURNALISM: 3rd place, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • BROADCAST NEWS: 5th place, UNC-Chapel Hill

Learn more at mj.unc.edu/Hearst.